News:

A forum for users of LackeyCCG

Main Menu

TCG Idea and Quandary

Started by Covenance, November 27, 2012, 03:47:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Covenance

Hi folks!

So I spent the latter of last night... up until 2:30 am to be exact, pouring over the many posts found within these forum boards.

I have to say that there was a 'lot' of information and I feel like I have a better grip on what I want to do and its direction.

However, I face a quandary at step I: It's setting.  Allow me to preface if you will...

I am a huge fan of battles in space; ship vs ship, boarding parties, interdictions, littoral combat warfare (yes, “littoral” is a real word and no it's not misspelled), etc...

(By the way, I am a Navy vet that retired after 20 years of service in 2008; so I have a professional interest that is driven by personal fascination from a gamer point of view – odd mix, I know.)

So, I have been designing a Space Warfare Combat TCG for little a while now (complete with true Dogfighting Maneuvers played as "Tactic Cards") but I have hit an epiphany that could derail the whole thing and cause me to go a completely different direction.

There have been many Sci Fi based TCGs but I have yet to see one stay on the market for any length of time.  My thinking behind the reason for this is fairly straightforward and simple: There is only so much creativity you can muster out of a "Starship." (Think of it as a "Creature" card which is the way I want to utilize Starships).

Magic, Multi World, Realm, etc - Fantasy based games suffer no restrictions in this aspect because frankly anything you put on a card can be supported by the lore of the genre in itself.  No question exists on whether or not something, an ability, spell, or what have you would be possible because it’s “Fantasy.”